Tag Archives: Multan

Multan advance in U-15 Badminton

On the opening day of the Inter Division U-15 Boys Badminton Championship, seven matches were decided at Iqbal Park Sports Complex. Multan bt Rawalpindi, DG Khan bt Sargodha, Sahiwal bt Multan, Faisalabad

No deaths in Multan blast, 3 hurt: police

There were no deaths in a bomb blast in central Multan, a police official said, adding that three policemen were wounded. “The bomb explosion targeting a police checkpost wounded three police officers,”

Multan annex Railways Athletics title

LAHORE – Multan Division won the 58th Railways Athletics Championships title leaving behind all the other divisions with Ayesha Hussain and Taufiq Hussain becoming the best players of the department.
Federal Minister for Railways Haji Ghulam Ahmad Bilour was the chief guest of the final day and gave the trophies to the winners. Multan pocketed first spot with 270 points, followed by Lahore 218 points and Workshop got 150 points. The overall Railway Annual Sports winner was

Multan, Sheikhupura earn wins

LAHORE – Two matches were decided in the 13th National Seniors’ Cricket Cup as Multan Veterans and Sheikhupura Lions earned full points. Multan Veterans defeated Khanewal Veterans in the South Punjab Group C match. Multan scored 220 for the loss of six wickets.
In reply, Khanewal Veterans could score only 165-8. Meanwhile, in the Central Punjab Group H clash, Sheikhupura scored 271-5 after a brilliant knock by Naseer Bhatti (136*). In reply, Gujranwala Blues were bundled out for

NBP Multan stage win

LAHORE – NBP Multan, SBP Karachi and SBP Multan won their matches of the seventh SBP Governor Cup Inter-Bank Super Series Cricket Tournament. Three matches were played on Sunday. In the first match, NBP Multan defeated PPCBL Lahore by seven wickets.
The Second match was played between SBP Karachi and SBP Multan, with SBP Karachi winning by seven wickets after chasing the target of 186 runs in 16.5 overs. In the last match of the day, SBP Multan defeated Bank Alfalah by 23 runs.

Multan Tigers, NBP match ends in a tie

LAHORE – The National One-day Cricket Cup match between National Bank of Pakistan and Multan Tigers ended in a tie here Tuesday at the Gaddafi Stadium.
Put into bat, Multan’s Zain Abbas with his run-a-ball 122 lifted the score to 267 in 48.3 overs. Imran Ullah extended full support to Zain from the other end with his 90-ball 78. Had Mohammad Talha and Uzair-ul-Haq (four and three wickets respectively) not maintained a tight line, Multan would have run away with the match.

WAPDA thrash Multan in National One-day Cup

LAHORE – Kashif Raza with his five-wicket haul led WAPDA to a comprehensive win over Multan Tigers in the National One-day Cricket Cup Division I match here at the LCCA Ground on Sunday.
Multan put Wapda to bat first and saw them scoring 224 runs. Multan batsmen fell to Kashif and Zulfiqar Babar, who took three wickets apiece. They were bowled out for 147 runs in 36.2 overs. From Wapda, Shoaib Maqsood 77 and Bilal Khilji 33 were the main scorers while Multan had the score

Senate body accuses PM of diverting KP funds to Multan, Larkana

ISLAMABAD – A sub-committee of the Senate Standing Committee on Communication on Saturday accused Prime Minister Yousaf Raza Gilani of diverting funds of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa to Multan and Larkana. Multan is the hometown of Prime Minister Yousaf Raza Gilani and Larkana – commonly known as the city of Bhuttos – is considered a PPP stronghold.
The committee met under Senator Zahid Khan and the meeting was attended by Senator Ismail Buledi, Planning Commission Secretary Sohail Ahmed,

Multan, NBP advance in National One-day Cup

LAHORE – Multan and National Bank registered wins in their respective matches of the Faysal Bank One-Day National Cup (Division-I) at the LCCA and Gaddafi Stadium on Friday. At LCCA Ground, Lahore, Multan put ATBL attack to sword by making 325 for seven with Zain Abbas making 96 and Imranullah 61. Imran Nazir and Raza Hasan got three and two wickets respectively.
In reply, ZTBL was bowled out for 159 in 34.1 overs. Imran Nazir and Shahid Yousuf reached half centuries while the