PML-N retains Islamabad mayor slot | Pakistan Today

PML-N retains Islamabad mayor slot

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) candidate Pir Adil Shah has won the election for the vacant seat of Islamabad’s mayor, according to unofficial and provisional result.

Shah bagged 43 votes, while Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) Sajid Mahmood was able to secure 26 votes. Out of a total of 73 votes, 69 were cast. The PML-N candidate enjoyed a clear majority over his two rivals.

The polling process started at 9:00am and ended at 5:00pm. There were no breaks in between. The offices located in the building, which have been declared as polling stations, remained closed.

Three candidates were contesting the by-polls on Mayor Islamabad’s seat which included Pir Adil Shah from PML-N, Malik Sajjad from PTI and Azhar Mahmood as an independent candidate.

It is pertinent to mention here that Mayor Islamabad Sheikh Ansar Aziz on October 6 resigned from his post, months after he was restored by the Islamabad High Court after being suspended over corruption allegations.

Sheikh Ansar Aziz, who belongs to PML-N, resigned from his post four months ahead of the completion of his tenure. Islamabad Metropolitan Corporation spokesman confirmed receiving the resignation from the mayor, however, he expressed his unawareness regarding the reasons behind the move.

The polling for the vacant seat of Mayor Islamabad was announced by the ECP on December 28 while further announcing district election commissioner Islamabad as returning officer for the polls and regional election commissioner as deputy returning officer.

The district and session judge Islamabad (West) was appointed as an appellate authority.

The Law Today Pakistan (TLTP) is an independent news service.