PTI wins another seat in GB; set to surpass three-fourth majority | Pakistan Today

PTI wins another seat in GB; set to surpass three-fourth majority

GILGIT: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate Syed Sohail Abbas Shah has won the Gilgit-III constituency of the Gilgit-Baltistan Legislative Assembly (GBLA) in an election which had been delayed for one week due to the death of the PTI’s former candidate, Jafar Shah.

According to the unofficial results received from all the 77 polling stations of the constituency, Abbas bagged 6,873 votes while the runner-up, an independent candidate Dr Muhammad Iqbal, received 4,678 votes. Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q) candidate Captain (r) Muhammad Shafiq got 4,654 votes. The Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) and the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) candidates respectively received 3,670 and 2,680 votes.

The new induction raised the number of PTI members in the legislative assembly to 17,  counting the six independent candidates. Furthermore, the ruling party also has the support of the Majlis-e-Wahdat-ul-Muslimeen (MWM), which has secured one seat during the polls. The ruling party now has support of 18 legislators out of 24 elected members. The PTI’s position will further consolidate after election on reserved seats and it will likely cross three-fourth majority in the house.

Seven independent candidates had secured success in the GB polls and six of them have so far joined the PTI, giving it the numbers in the legislative assembly to achieve the two-thirds majority in the house of 24 members.

Prime Minister Imran Khan on November 15 staked claim on the GB government after the PTI emerged as the biggest party in last Sunday’s election for the region’s legislative assembly. According to the unofficial results of 23 constituencies of the GB, the PTI bagged 10 seats, leading other major political parties, including the PPP with three seats, and PML-N with two seats.

The Law Today Pakistan (TLTP) is an independent news service.