JI chief to be added to special Kashmir committee


ISLAMABAD: The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) government on Friday decided to include Jamaat-e-Islami (JI) chief Senator Sirajul Haq, Gilgit-Baltistan Governor Jalal Hussain and Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK) President Masood Khan in the prime minister’s seven-member committee on Kashmir.

Senator Sirajul Haq, the JI leader, would be extended a formal invitation to join the committee, the notification added, further noting that AJK President Sardar Masood Khan, GB Governor Raja Jalal Hussain Maqpoon, as well as Federal Law Minister Farogh Naseem, would be included in the special team.

On August 7, the prime minister formed a committee to come up with recommendations on how to take up Kashmir issue at the international level.

“The Prime Minister has been pleased to constitute, with immediate effect, a seven (07) member team who shall make recommendations to formulate the legal/political/diplomatic response on the latest developments related to Indian Held Kashmir,” said a notification issued on the same day.

According to the notification, the special team would comprise Foreign Minister Shah Mehmood Qureshi, Attorney General for Pakistan Anwar Mansoor Khan, Foreign Secretary Sohail Mahmood, and the PM’s special envoy Ahmed Bilal Sufi, as well as the directors general of Inter-Services Intelligence (ISI), Military Operations, and the Inter Services Public Relations (ISPR).