Opp forms committees to expose ‘defecting’ senators


ISLAMABAD: A day after Senate Chairman Sadiq Sanjrani survived the no-confidence vote moved by the opposition, the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) formed committees to find out the names of the senators who switched loyalties at the crucial vote.

The committee formed by PPP comprises former premier Yousuf Raza Gilani, Nayyer Bokhari, Saeed Ghani, Sabir Baloch and Farhatullah Babar and may include other members if necessary. The committee will also deliberate on the issue of the resignations sent to the party chairman by senators.

It is worth mentioning here that 21 senators belonging to PPP had submitted their resignations to PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari following the defeat of the no-confidence vote.

PML-N also formed a committee headed by Senator Rana Maqbool to expose the defectors. PML-N leader Ahsan Iqbal told the media that the party would bring the senators ‘who sold their conscience’ in front of the public.