SC stops re-election on 29 polling stations of NA-259 Dera Bugti | Pakistan Today

SC stops re-election on 29 polling stations of NA-259 Dera Bugti

DERA BUGTI: The Supreme Court on Friday stopped re-election on 29 polling stations of National Assembly (NA) constituency NA-259 Dera Bugti.

A two-member bench of the apex court comprising Justice Gulzar Ahmed and Justice Sheikh Azmat Saeed heard the case and stopped polling.

A petition was filed by Nawabzada Shahzain Bugti.

During the course of proceedings, Justice Gulzar Ahmed asked whether a two-member bench can hear an election petition as after verdict of the apex court only a three-member bench can hear the election matters.

He remarked that the petitioner had brought in many allegations on general elections.

He asked whether re-polling could be held after the apex court decision.

Advocate Aamir Rana counsel for opponent candidate Tariq Khetran said that the election commission has issued election schedule for 29 polling stations and polling would be held in next week.

Justice Gulzar asked Aamir Rana that did he want the petition to be ineffective.

Advocate Hamid Khan counsel for Shazain Bugti pleaded that the court should restore notification of his client’s victory.

He said that constituency would remain without representation if the court would not restore his client’s notification.

He said his client won the election with the margin of 1221 votes.

Justice Gulzar Ahmed remarked that the court would decide the case after hearing the arguments by both parties after summer vacations.

Related posts