Body approves bill to increase number of IHC judges


ISLAMABAD: The Senate Standing Committee on Law and Justice Thursday approved the Islamabad High Court Amendment Bill 2019, to increase the number of judges in the court.

The meeting was held in the Parliament under the chairmanship of Senator Mohammad Javaid Abbasi in which various bills were taken into consideration and the opinion was taken from concerned Ministries and officials.

The committee chairman Senator Mohammad Javaid Abbasi presented the constitutional amendments bill 2019 and said that the pressure of cases on high courts is increasing on the due to population and other reasons.

Similarly, from the remote areas, he said parties and lawyers have to a trip to a distance. He said that the purpose of this bill is to provide relief to the parties and lawyers, so that the number of benchmarks of the Islamabad High Court should be increased.

The committee also observed that after the integration of tribal areas in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, there is a need to increase benches there as well.

Senator Farooq H Naik presided over the meeting while discussing the constitutional amendment bill 2019 for amendment in Article 198 of the Constitution.

Committee also recommended on the occasion that the Ministry of Law should increase the number of High Court judges in all four provinces.

The committee observed that the demand was done by several constituencies and with regard to this demand, the Committee approved the Islamabad High Court amendment bill 2019.

The committee said that the judges should be from the Islamabad constituency and the government was instructed to submit an amendment bill in this regard as soon as possible.

Representatives of Bar Associations appreciated the recommendation of the Committee in respect of increasing the number of benches and said that these times were the longest demands of associations.

The meeting was attended by Senators Farooq H Naik, Siraj ul Haq, Mohammad Ali Khan Saif, Dr Ghaus Mohammad Khan Niazi, Mustafa Nawaz Khokhar, Sana Jamali, Star Ayaz, Rehman Malik, Mian Muhammad Atiq Sheikh and Senator Rahmatullah besides Ministry of Law and Justice, representatives of Bar Associations, Ministry of Commerce, State Life Field Workers Association and other high officials.