Shehbaz Sharif concedes Opposition Leader position to Imran Khan’s Twitter handle


(Disclaimer: this is a work of fiction. Learn to take a joke; you’ll live longer.)

ISLAMABAD – Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) President Shehbaz Sharif has decided to concede his position as the opposition leader in the National Assembly to Prime Minister Imran Khan’s Twitter handle, The Dependent has reliably learnt.

NA Speaker Asad Qaiser is expected to approve the appointment of @ImranKhanPTI and issue a notification after the Twitter handle was unanimously accepted as the opposition leader by all the opposition parties following negotiations.

The Twitter handle @ImranKhanPTI would be required to contest a by-election for a National Assembly seat, which is expected to be vacated by one of the PML-N members, sources confirm.

Furthermore, sources have also revealed that in addition to replacing Shehbaz Sharif as the Opposition Leader, Prime Minister Khan’s Twitter handle is also expected to become the chairhandle of the Public Accounts Committee (PAC) in his place.

Sources within the PML-N further confirm that there are talks to make @ImranKhanPTI, the Twitter handle, the party president in Shehbaz Sharif’s place as well.

“I mean pre-July 2018 @ImranKhanPTI expresses the PML-N’s current perspective more eloquently than anyone else, and is completely aligned with the party’s current policies and narrative,” said senior PML-N leader Ahsan Iqbal.

“All other opposition parties agree with us wholeheartedly that the Twitter handle best expresses their viewpoints and interests as well. We can’t think of anyone better to lead the party, the opposition coalition and indeed the PAC.”

Even so, political analysts already predict factions within @ImranKhanPTI divided along the lines of the tweets shared before and after July 2018, which are expected to join the PML-N and the ruling Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf respectively.

This would be the first instance of a single member of the parliament chronologically belonging to two different parties.