HBL pulls out of Pakistan domestic cricket


Habib Bank Limited (HBL) has reportedly decided to pull out of Pakistan’s domestic cricket after being an integral part of the circuit for over four decades.

According to a news report, the bank said in a statement that it is demobilising its team in a bid to invest in Pakistan Super League (PSL), the country’s premier T20 tournament.

“To continue to invest in HBL PSL, and in the larger interest of Cricket in Pakistan, HBL will redeploy its valuable resources from other avenues. This reinvestment will be partially achieved by existing departmental cricket,” the bank said. “HBL has had a long history in departmental cricket and recognizes its valuable contributions to Pakistan cricket. Consequent to our enhanced focus on HBLPSL, the HBL cricket team will be demobilised.”

Cricket legends including Javed Miandad, Mohsin Khan, Abdul Qadir, Shahid Afridi, Younis Khan, among others have played for HBL. Moreover, the bank’s latest squad included Imam ul Haq, Umar Akmal, Fakhar Zaman, Faheem Ashraf, Imran Farhat, Umar Gul, Abid Ali, Imran Farhat, Abdul Rehman and Junaid Khan. Their contracts expired in March 2019.

However, the bank reaffirmed its commitment to support cricket in Pakistan. Last year, HBL won Quaid e Azam Trophy, the country’s top first-class tournament, and Quaid-e-Azam One-day Cup.

In June 2018, it was reported that United Bank Limited (UBL) has decided to disband its domestic cricket team.