NAB extends service of 31 prosecutors


–A few anti-corruption prosecutors working on monthly-basis may resign over low pay: sources

ISLAMABAD: The National Accountability Bureau (NAB) has approved an extension in service of over 31 special prosecutors working on a monthly-fee basis.

According to the documents, NAB Chairman Justice (r) Javed Iqbal has given extension to 31 prosecutors belonging to the headquarters and different bureaus who are working on a monthly-fee basis under the Section 8 (c) of NAO, 1999, up to 31-12-2019.

Five special prosecutors belong to the NAB headquarters including Imran-ul-Haq Khan, special prosecutor (Supreme Court), Nasir Mahmood Mughal, special prosecutor (high court), Azal Qureshi, special prosecutor (high court), Ajmal Aziz Khalid, special prosecutor (TC/LC) and Osman Karim, special prosecutor (TC), have received extensions.

Documents also reveal that 13 special prosecutors from Rawalpindi have been given extensions including Arshad Qayyum, special prosecutor (high court), Muzaffar Ahmed Khan, special prosecutor (high court), Muhammad Shoaib Khan, special prosecutor (high court), Hasnain Khursheed, special prosecutor (high court), Sohail Arif, Tahir Ayub Khan, Irfan Ahmed Boola, Muhammad Waqar Abbasi, Usman Masood, Muhammad Asghar, Wasiq Hasnain Malik, Barrister Rizwan Ahmad and Amin Khan.

Five special prosecutors from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) were given extension in service including Syed Azeem Dad (high court), Ali Jan (high court), Muhammad Riaz, Saeed Ullah Khan, and Habib Ullah.

Similarly, three special prosecutors were awarded extension in service on a monthly-fee basis including Ch Mumtaz Yousaf, DPGA, Rashid Zeb Khan Golra and Zamir Ahmed. Two special prosecutors were given the extensions including Muhammad Akram Rao and Muhammad Javed Iqbal Ansari.

Three special prosecutors from Sukkur were awarded extension including Muhammad Zubair Malik (high court), Ubedullah Abro (TC/LC) and Rabait Ali Bhanbhro.

Sources in the legal fraternity said that the NAB’s order regarding extension in service will not be acceptable to several prosecutors and they might quit the bureau’s legal team in the coming days.

These prosecutors will quit as they were not given extension on yearly basis, they said, adding that a few prosecutors have already submitted their resignation.

Sources said the prosecutors would resign as they are paid less and not awarded extension on yearly basis.


Comments are closed.