Fawad, Shehryar, Ahsan among 332 MPs suspended for not submitting asset details | Pakistan Today

Fawad, Shehryar, Ahsan among 332 MPs suspended for not submitting asset details

ISLAMABAD: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Wednesday suspended the memberships of 332 members of the parliament and provincial assemblies under Section 137 for failing to submit details of their assets, according to a notification issued by the commission.

Information and Broadcasting Minister Fawad Chaudhry, National Health Services Minister Aamer Mehmood Kiani, Housing Minister Tariq Bashir Cheema, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) leader Ahsan Iqbal, Senator Musadik Malik and BNP-M’s Akhtar Mengal are among the suspended lawmakers.

According to details, no salary or benefits shall be accrued by the suspended lawmakers, beginning January 16, until the submission of the statements of assets and liabilities.

Senator Sarfraz Ahmed Bugti, Minister of State for Interior Shehryar Afridi, PML-N’s Maiza Hameed and others are also in the list.

As per the notification issued by the ECP, 72 members of the National Assembly and 20 members of the Senate have been suspended. It is further stated that the detail of assets and liabilities of 115 members of the Punjab Assembly, 52 members of the Sindh Assembly, 54 members of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly and 19 members of the Balochistan Assembly is also awaited.

The commission, in its notification, said that the Elections Act 2017 requires that “every Member of an Assembly and Senate shall submit to the Commission, on or before 31st December each year, a copy of his statement of assets and liabilities including assets and liabilities of his spouse and dependent children”.

Those who have failed to submit the details “shall cease to function as members with immediate effect till such statements are submitted by them”, the ECP has informed the suspended lawmakers.

Related posts