Ali Tareen finally decides name of PSL sixth team


The Pakistan Super League’s (PSL) sixth team owner Ali Khan Tareen has finally announced the name of his newly bought cricket franchise.

In a video message on Twitter on Sunday, Tareen said he has decided to retain the previous name of Multan Sultans after getting feedback from fans in South Punjab.

“We went to Multan, Bahawalpur, Khanewal and Lodhran and asked people about their preference of our PSL team’s name. They suggested various names like Multan Bahadur and Multan Malang but there was overwhelming support for the old name”, he said. “We have decided to retain Multan Sultans,” he concluded.

In December 2018, Ali Khan Tareen, son of former federal minister and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) aide Jahangir Khan Tareen, won the ownership rights of the sixth PSL franchise.

The bidding for the sixth team was held in Lahore where The Multan Consortium placed the highest offer.

“The Multan Consortium led by Ali Tareen has won the franchise rights for the sixth team, by exceeding the reserve price,” the PSL tweeted.

The ownership rights have been sold for a period of seven years against a bid of  US $5.21 million per annum which “exceeded the reserve price” set by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), said another tweet.

Tareen submitted his bid for the acquisition of the ownership rights of the sixth PSL team. He has expressed his willingness to “retain the team in South Punjab” and naming it Multan.

Multan Sultans, whose contract was terminated by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) upon the failure of the former to meet the financial obligations, was up for bid as the sixth PSL franchise.

In a statement issued by the cricket governing body, it said that the mentioned team was unable to meet the financial agreements thence its membership was terminated.