ECP tells 688 lawmakers to submit asset details by Jan 15 | Pakistan Today

ECP tells 688 lawmakers to submit asset details by Jan 15

ISLAMABAD: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Tuesday asked 688 parliamentarians to submit their yearly statements of assets and liabilities with the commission by January 15.

According to an official of the ECP, out of total 1,174 lawmakers from Senate, National Assembly (NA) and four provincial assemblies, 688 have yet to submit details of their assets to the commission.

He said that 484 parliamentarians have submitted their details so far by the due date of December 31. He said that 61 senators and 155 members of NA have submitted details of assets and liabilities while 113 members of Punjab Assembly, 81 members of Sindh Assembly, 43 members of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) Assembly and 30 members of Balochistan Assembly have also submitted their asset details.

He said that the ratio of filing of assets by parliamentarians by due date was 41.14 per cent as still a large number of members failed to submit their details with the commission, including 43 members of Senate, 187 of members of NA, 258 members of Punjab Assembly, 86 members of Sindh Assembly, 80 members of KP Assembly and 34 members of Balochistan Assembly.

It is pertinent to mention here that the commission had asked the parliamentarians to file their yearly statements of assets and liabilities of spouse and dependent children as of the preceding June 30, on Form B by December 31. The commission had warned that the defaulters would be suspended from respective seats of Senate, NA and provincial assemblies as it is a mandatory requirement under Section 137 of the Elections Act, 2017. Under Section 137 the members of the Senate, NA and provincial assemblies of the Punjab, Sindh, KP and Balochistan are required to submit with the Election Commission Secretariat yearly statements of assets and liabilities, including spouse and dependent children.

The ECP official said that prescribed forms are available, free of cost, from the Election Commission Secretariat, Islamabad and offices of provincial election commissioners in each province. Forms have already been sent to the Senate Secretariat, NA Secretariat and secretariats of all the four provincial assemblies to facilitate the members, he added.

Related posts