PSL-style hockey league to have six teams

BREDA - Rabobank Hockey Champions Trophy Argentina - Pakistan Photo: REY Matias. COPYRIGHT WORLDSPORTPICS FRANK UIJLENBROEK

The first-ever Pakistan Hockey Super League is ready to take place next year with six participating teams, according to media reports.

Karachi Karare, Lahori Ustad, Peshawar Dilawar, Multan Sufiyan and Quetta Defenders are five names revealed till now while the sixth team will be that of Islamabad which is yet to be named.

The league will host local and foreign players including stars from Germany, the Netherlands, Spain, Belgium, France and Argentina. The Pakistan Hockey Federation (PHF) aims to attract at least three to four foreign players for each participating side through effective marketing.

The league will also have an age limit, where players aged 25 years and above will not be allowed to participate in the event in order to promote and groom young talent, according to reports.

The final schedule of the hockey league will be announced after the Executive Board meeting.


Earlier, the league reportedly suffered a delay due to financial obstacles. The hockey governing body, which is striving to bring back the glorious past, earlier announced that the PSL-like tournament would be held next year in January from 12-19. The PHF also requested for tenders for the tournament.

However, hopes for the conduct of PHSL as per the schedule are dim as the hockey body is financially struggling. Reports have emerged that PHSL will now be played from March 15 to 25 in Lahore.

12 international players have reportedly agreed to participate in the proposed tournament so far.


Comments are closed.