NA speaker designates conveners for Parliamentary Friendship Groups


ISLAMABAD: National Assembly Speaker Asad Qaiser has stressed upon the need to expand cooperation and contacts with the parliaments across the globe through the platform of Parliamentary Friendship Groups (PFGs).

The process of enrollment of membership for the PFG began with the passage of a resolution by the National Assembly on September 24, 2018, through which 91 groups were reactivated, says a statement issued here on Wednesday.

The NA speaker, in his capacity as ex-officio president of these groups, has appointed conveners from among the membership to look after the day-to-day business of the forums.

The PFGs are not only meant to foster coordination with the parliaments of the 91 friendly countries but also to expand the scope of cooperation from parliament-to-parliament interaction to essential people-to-people contacts.

With the above objective in mind, the National Assembly speaker has designated 12 more conveners of the groups, bringing the total number of conveners to 35.

The conveners of the remaining 56 PFGs will be appointed once the groups complete required quorum. List of conveners for Parliamentary Friendship Groups in the 15th National Assembly as follows: 1.Sahibzada Sibghatullah, Azerbaijan 2.Mehboob Shah, Mayanmar 3.Prince Muhammad Nawaz Allai, Qatar 4.Advocate Malik Anwar Taj, Mauritius 5.Muhammad Iqbal Afridi Nepal + Bhutan 6.NawabzadaIftikhar Ahmed Khan Babar, Kuwait 7.Mir Amer Ali Khan Magsi, Portugal 8.Raza Rabbani Khar, Malaysia 9.Syed Ghulam Mustafa Shah, Morocco 10.Zulfiqar Sattar Bachani, Kenya 11.Shaista Pervaiz, Maldives 12.Shagufta Jumani, Nigeria.