Franchises release retention list for PSL4 | Pakistan Today

Franchises release retention list for PSL4

LAHORE: Pakistan Super League (PSL) franchises on Monday released the retention list for the fourth edition of the PSL going to be held mutually in UAE and Pakistan between February 14 and March 17 next year.

The retention list was revealed by the PSL management on its official Twitter account.

The fourth edition of the PSL will witness a new, sixth team, which is yet to be named, participating in the event. Largely, franchises have kept the same players as previous seasons, however, minor exceptions have also been made. Brian Lara, who was part of all three previous seasons, will not be participating in PSL 4.

Some of the prominent International cricketers include former Kiwi batsman Luke Ronchi, South-African born Kiwi cricketer Colin Munro, Windies batsman Darren Sammy, bowler Sunil Narine and British batsman Liam Dawson, among others.

South African batsman Colin Ingram, Pakistani batsman Kamran Akmal, Rilee Rossouw and tall speed gun Muhammad Irfan are appointed ambassadors to Karachi Kings, Peshawar Zalmi, Quetta Gladiators and the sixth team respectively. Meanwhile, Shane Watson is taken as a mentor by Quetta Gladiators.

Local and international players who have been bought by the tournament’s franchises are divided into three different categories mainly platinum, diamond and gold with an additional silver category. Each team is allowed to go with a maximum retention of 10 players.

Two times champion Islamabad United will be defending its title in the upcoming season of the PSL.

PSL is a T20 cricket league founded in 2015 initially with five teams. Instead of operating as an association of independently owned teams, like the Indian Premier League (IPL), it performs as a single entity. While the initial matches will be played in UAE, last eight matches including the knock-out games will be played in Pakistan. Final match is due on March 17 in Karachi.

Related posts