Parliamentary committee approves Athar Minallah’s name as new IHC CJ


The Parliamentary Committee on Appointment of Judges (PCAJ) on Thursday approved the appointment of Justice Athar Minallah as the new chief justice of the Islamabad High Court (IHC).

Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs Ali Muhammad Khan chaired a meeting of the committee on Thursday in Justice Minallah’s appointment as IHC CJ was confirmed.

Pakistan People’s Party’s (PPP) Farooq H Naek and Raja Pervez Ashraf, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s (PML-N) Rana Sanaullah and Javed Abbasi, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) Naumar Wazir and Sarfaraz Bugti from the Balochistan Awami Party (BAP) were also present during the meeting.

The Chief Justice of Pakistan (CJP) Mian Saqib Nisar had earlier convened a meeting of the Judicial Council of Pakistan in his capacity as its chairman on November 1 to consider and approve the appointment of Justice Athar Minallah as new chief justice of the IHC.

The incumbent chief justice of the IHC, Justice Muhammad Anwar Kasi, is set to retire on November 27.