AJK govt reshuffles ministers’ portfolios


MUZAFFARABAD: A week after the induction of new ministers to the cabinet, the Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK) government has reshuffled their portfolios, said a notification issued by the AJK government on Wednesday.

According to the notification, Senior Minister Chaudhry Tariq Farooq has been assigned the portfolio of Physical Planning, Housing and Irrigation, Raja Nisar Ahmad Khan has been given the Electricity Department while Dr Najeeb Naqi will be the Health minister.

Chaudhry Muhammad Aziz has been assigned the Ministry of Buildings and Communications, Raja Muhammad Naseer Khan has been given the Local Governments and Rural Development Department while Syed Iftikhar Gilani has been assigned the Elementary and Secondary Education besides Environmental Protection Agency and Muzaffarabad City Development Projects (MCDP).

Naureen Arif will retain the departments of Small Industries and Women Development, Sardar Mir Akbar Khan will be the minister for Forests and Bagh City Development Projects (BCDP), Sardar Farooq Sikandar will be the minister for Revenue and Custodian Departments while Raja Abdul Qayoom Khan will hold the Auqaf and Religious Affairs Ministry.

Chaudhry Masood Khalid has been handed the reins of the Agriculture Department, Chaudhry Rukhsar Ahmad the charge of Power Development Organisation (PDO) while Chaudhary Saeed will be the minister for Sports, Youth Affairs, Culture, Development Authority Mirpur (DAM) and Mangla Dam Affairs.

Col (r) Waqar Ahmad Noor will be the Higher Education minister, Sardar Farooq Ahmad Tahir has been assigned the Ministry of Law, Justice, Parliamentary Affairs and Human Rights while Chaudhry Yaseen Gulshan has been given the Department of Zakat and Ushar.

Dr Mustafa Bashir will be the minister for Population Welfare, Technical and Vocational Education as well as Training and Information Technology, Chaudhry Shehzad Mehmood will be the minister for Azad Kashmir Mines and Industries Development Corporation (AKMIDC) while Syed Shaukat Shah will retain the Ministry of Food.

Similarly, Chaudhry Muhammad Ishaaq has been given the Prison Department, Chaudhry Muhammad Ismail will be the Minister for Livestock and Dairy Development Department, Nasar Hussain Dar will head the Transport, Wildlife and Fisheries Department while Ahmad Raza Qadri has been given Civil Defence Department and Disaster Management Authority.

Raja Muhammad Sadeeq will be the Rehabilitation minister, Chaudhry Javed Ahmad has been assigned the Department of Social Welfare while Raja Mushtaq Mehnas will be the minister for Information and Tourism.