Five ex-premiers under NAB’s radar


As many as five former prime ministers are among those being investigated by the National Accountability Bureau (NAB) in the cases related to corruption and misuse of authority, media reports said Tuesday.

The bureau has reportedly prepared a list of 71 names suspected to corrupt practices that include government officials, top politicians, bureaucrats, and public office holders.

The list includes the names of five former prime ministers, including Nawaz Sharif, Shoukat Aziz, Raja Pervez Ashraf, Syed Yousuf Raza Gilani, and Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain.

Among other top names are serving and former chief ministers, including Sindh CM Syed Murad Ali Shah, former Khyber Pakhtunkhwa CM Pervez Khattak, former Balochistan chief ministers Aslam Khan Raisani and Sardar Sanaullah Zehri, and former Punjab chief ministers Shehbaz Sharif and Chaudhry Pervez Elahi.

The list also has names of presently elected or serving lawmakers as well as designated bureaucrats. Karachi Mayor Waseem Akhtar, Sindh MPA Nawab Muhammad Taimur Talpur, Sindh Building Control Authority (SBCA) DG Manzoor Qadir, Senator Osman Saifullah, Principal Secretary to PM Imran Khan Azam Khan, and Special Assistant to PM Imran Khan Zulfiqar Bukhari.