Samar Bilour, five other KP MPAs take oath


PESHAWAR: Six new Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa (KP) MPAs took oath on Tuesday including Samar Bilour, the widow of slain Awami National Party (ANP) leader Haroon Bilour, who emerged victorious in the PK-78 by-polls was among those who took the oath.

Haroon was killed in a Peshawar attack while campaigning in the same constituency before the July general elections, hence, polling was postponed in the wake of his assassination.

Aghaz Ikramullah Gandapur, son of former KP minister Ikramullah Gandapur, Defense Minister Pervez Khattak’s son Ibrahim Khattak and brother Liaquat Khattak also took the oath.

Aqibullah, a former member of the National Assembly and brother of NA speaker Asad Qaiser is also among the new Members Provincial Assembly (MPAs).

Meanwhile, two newly-elected MPAs could not reach the assembly to take the oath.