ECP notifies 22 candidates as winner in recent polls


–Notification of 13 lawmakers withheld for not submitting election expenses

–All elected lawmakers asked to submit assets declaration by Dec 31

ISLAMABAD: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) Thursday withheld the notification of 13 lawmakers from the ruling Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), including that of former prime minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, as returned candidates in the recently held by-elections due to non-submission of declaration of their respective election expenditure.

The notifications of 22 returned candidates, however, have been issued by the ECP. Moreover, the ECP has also directed all the new lawmakers of national and provincial assemblies to submit their assets declaration and assets owned by their dependents by December 31st, failing which their respective membership of assemblies would be suspended.

The notifications issued include those of seven MNAs, eight members of Punjab Assembly, three members of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly, and two members each from Balochistan and Sindh Assemblies.

According to details, the returned candidates include Malik Sohail Kamrial from NA-56, Saikh Rashid Shafique from NA-60, Chaudhry Salik Hussain from NA-65, Chaudhry Moonis Elahi from NA-69, Khawaja Saad Rafique from NA-131, Zahid Akram Durrani from NA-35 and Alamgir Khan from NA-243.

The notifications of Shahid Khaqan Abbasi from NA-124, Ali Awan from NA-53, Mansoor Hayat Khan from NA-63 and Ali Gauhar Khan from NA-103 have been withheld for want of declarations of their election expenses.