PTI, PML-N stay neck and neck in Punjab Assembly by-election results


LAHORE: Both the ruling Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) stayed neck and neck in the by-poll results by winning five seats each while two seats were secured by the independent candidates.

In Punjab, the by-elections were held in 12 of the provincial assembly.

According to unofficial and unconfirmed results, PTI’s Muhammad Akbar Khan leads with 5,006 votes in PP-3 while he is followed by PML-N’s Iftikhar Ahmed Khan with 2,724 votes.

In PP-27, PML-N’s Nasir Mehmood leads with 22,115 votes, followed by PTI’s Shahnawaz Raja with 21,129 votes. PTI’s Malik Ahmad Khan was elected unopposed from PP-87.

In PP-103, PML-N’s Jafar Ali leads with 1,740 votes, followed by PTI’s Shamsher Haider, who has so far bagged 1,420 votes. Independent candidate Chaudhary Bilal Asghar leads with 358 votes in PP-118 and is followed by PTI’s Asad Zaman with 302 votes.

The by-poll in PP-164 was led by PML-N’s Sohail Shaukat Butt with 4,386 votes. PTI’s Yousuf Ali is in second place with 3,345 votes. In PP-165, PML-N’s Malik Saiful Malook Khokhar won by bagging 28,589 votes. PTI’s Mohammad Mansha Sindhu stood runner-up with 23149 votes to his credit.

In PP-201, PTI’s Samsam Bukhari won the Sahiwal constituency with 58,280 votes and he is followed by PML-N’s Muhammad Tufail who attained 51,622 votes.

In Multan’s PP-222, independent candidate Qasim Abbas Khan won by bagging 38327 votes. PTI’s Sohail Ahmed Noon followed Khan with 31,893 votes.

In PP-261, PTI’s Fawaz Ahmed leads with 8,580 votes, followed by PPP’s Makhdoom Hassan Raza Hashmi with 2,370 votes. In PP-272, PTI’s Zahra Batool won with 2,401 votes. She was followed by independent candidate Syed Haroon Ahmed Sultan.

PML-N’s Sardar Awais Leghari won the by-election in PP-292 by attaining 32,845 votes. PTI’s Sardar Maqsood Laghari stood runner-up with 21,938 votes.