PTI leads in KP Assembly by-poll with five seats


PESHAWAR: Out of total nine constituencies of the provincial assembly, the ruling Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) is leading in five seats followed by the Awami National Party (ANP) with two and the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) with one seat while the Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal (MMA) dominated PTI on NA-35 vacated by PTI Chairman Imran Khan.

As per unofficial and incomplete result in Swat’s PK-3, PML-N candidate Sardar Khan won with 16,824 votes against PTI’s Sajid Ali who secured 15,911 votes. In Swabi’s PK-44, Aqibullah Khan of PTI leads with 15,623 votes against his rival Ghulam Hussain of the ANP, who is chasing his rival with 12,084 votes.

Similarly, on PK-99, PTI candidate Aghaz Ikramullah Gandapur leads with 30,030 votes against his independent rival who followed him with 22,857 votes. On PK-53, ANP’s Ahmed Khan won with 19,065 votes to his credit. PTI’s Muhammad Abdul Salam stood runner-up with 19,044 votes, according to the initial unconfirmed results.

On Nowshera’s PK-61, PTI candidate Muhammad Ibrahim Khattak leads with 12,876 votes against ANP’s Noor Alam Khan, who chased him with 7,669 votes. On Nowshera’s PK-64, PTI’s Liaquat Khan won with 21,461 votes against his rival Muhammad Shahid of the ANP who has 8,455 and counting.

On PK-97, Faisal Amin won his seat by securing 18,170 votes against PPP rival candidate Farhan who got 7,609 votes. ANP’s Waqar Ahmad Khan won PK-7 by-polls securing 14,096 votes. PTI’s Fazal Maula followed Khan with 13,425 votes.

On NA-35, MMA’s Zahid Akram is leading with 51,144 followed by PTI’s Naseem Ali Shah with 32,033, according to the unofficial and unconfirmed results.


Turnout remained low in the by-elections as compare to the July 25 general elections, however, the election was held in relatively peaceful environment in the one constituency of the National Assembly (NA-35 of Bannu) and nine constituencies of the provincial assembly.

A total of 57 candidates contested the Sunday’s by-polls, according to the ECP data. A total 2,029,963 voters have been registered, which include 878,474 female voters. The ECP has formed 1,555 polling stations which have 5,007 polling booths. The ECP has declared 544 polling stations as sensitive.

There were reports that women participation remained extremely low in the election at various constituencies of the KP, however, the ECP said that it took notice of these complaints which would be addressed till the end of the polling.

A help desk to deal with issues and problems faced by women and disable voters has also been established in the office of provincial election commissioner.

Polling lasted till 5:00 PM at 117 polling stations of PK-78 of Peshawar which was one of the sensitive constituencies of the KP. A heavy contingent of police and 2,000 army personnel were deployed to provide security to the electoral staff and voters various polling stations. Police and army personnel remained vigilant to maintained discipline during the polling process.

The District Returning Officer (DRO) in Nowshera has told media that the issue regarding women not being allowed to vote has been resolved. Officials of the district administration and the ECP held a jirga with local elders who gave the assurance that women will cast their vote.

“The elders assured that after Zuhr prayer, women will go to polling stations to vote,” said the DRO. When asked who stopped the women, the DRO said that it has been the tradition in the area. “In the 2013 and 2018 general elections, women did not vote,” he said, adding that he hoped they would cast vote this time.

In Peshawar’s PK-78, a total of 63 polling stations are specified for male voters, and 53 polling stations are specified for female voters. One polling station is for both males and females jointly.