Amir axed from Pakistan squad for Australia Tests


The National Selection Committee (NSC) headed by Inzamamul Haq after consultation with Captain Sarfraz Ahmed and Head Coach Mickey Arthur on Thursday announced the 17-member Test squad for the two-match Test series against Australia which does not include fast bowler Mohammad Amir.

On the other hand, left-arm pacer Wahab Riaz will be making a comeback and Mohammad Rizwan will be kept on the side as the reserve wicketkeeper.

“The team has been selected keeping in mind the conditions of the UAE,” said Inzamam. “Mohammad Amir has been dropped from the side while Wahab Riaz and Mir Hamza have been picked.”

He added: “Three spinners, Shahdab Khan, Yasir Shah and Bilal Asif, have been kept in the squad keeping in view the UAE wickets. Furthermore, Mohammad Rizwan makes a comeback in the Test squad [as reserve wicketkeeper].”

The first Test is in Dubai from October 7 with the second in Abu Dhabi from October 16.


  1. Azhar Ali
  2. Fakhar Zaman
  3. Imamul Haq
  4. Babar Azam
  5. Asad Shafiq
  6. Haris Sohail
  7. Usman Salahuddin
  8. Sarfraz Ahmed (Captain- WK)
  9. Yasir Shah
  10. Shadab Khan
  11. Bilal Asif
  12. Mohammad Abbas
  13. Hasan Ali
  14. Wahab Riaz
  15. Faheem Ashraf
  16. Mir Hamza
  17. Mohammad Rizwan  (WK)