Opposition parties name members for rigging probe committee


ISLAMABAD: Eight names have been forwarded by the opposition parties to the government for inclusion in the 20-member parliamentary committee tasked to probe rigging allegation in the July 25 general elections.

These include Syed Khursheed Shah, Raja Pervaiz Ashraf and Naveed Qamar who will represent the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP). The Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) has nominated Ahsan Iqbal, Rana Sanaullah and Rana Tanveer.

The committee also includes Murtaza Javed Abbasi and Akhtar Mengal. One member each from the Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) and Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) will also be included.

PPP leader Khursheed Shah said the probe body will include 10 members each from the government and opposition parties. The government will appoint the head of the committee, he added.

The government on Tuesday decided to appoint Defence Minister Pervez Khattak as head of the committee tasked to investigate rigging allegations in the elections.

The parliamentary committee will include five members from the ruling Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) and one member each from MQM-Pakistan, Grand Democratic Alliance, PML-Q, Balochistan Awami Party, and BNP-Mengal.

The PTI members consist of ministers Pervez Khattak, Shireen Mazari, Amir Dogar, Fawad Chaudhry and Ali Muhammad Khan. Other members include Amin-ul-Haq (MQM-P), Tariq Bashir Cheema (PML-Q), BNP chief Akhtar Mengal, and Khalid Maghsi (BAP). From GDA, it was reported that either Ghos Bux Mahar or Dr Fehmida Mirza.