CADD abolished, assigned businesses transferred to federal ministries, depts


–PEIRA transferred to Cabinet Division instead of Federal Education and Professional Training

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) led government has abolished the Capital Administration and Development Division (CADD) and transferred its assigned businesses to other relevant ministries/departments of the federal government.

A total of 27 departments working under CADD have been transferred to seven ministries of the federal government; however, the most unexpected decision was to put Private Educational Institutions Regulatory Authority (PEIRA) under the Cabinet Division instead of Federal Education and Professional Training.

Sources privy to the development told Pakistan Today that there was hard talk in the cabinet meeting presided over by Prime Minister Imran Khan on Thursday over the issue of dissolution of the CADD, as all the relevant ministries were trying to get the maximum share of the devolved ministry.

They said that Federal Education Minister Shafqat Mahmood sought the transfer of PEIRA to the Federal Education Ministry but the government decided to transfer it along with Islamabad Club to the Cabinet Division.

“The Rules of Business 1973 allocate business among various ministries/departments of the federal government. In terms of proviso to rule 3(3) of the Rules of Business 1973, the constitution of a division may be modified from time to time by the prime minister,” the Cabinet Division stated in a notification issued on Friday.

It was further stated that the prime minister had desired to abolish CADD and transfer its allocated businesses to other relevant divisions of the federal secretariat. “The CADD is inter-alia dealing with the federal government functions/departments relating to health, education and social welfare within the jurisdiction of the Islamabad Capital Territory.”

“The division is also dealing with Capital Development Authority and Clubs.   It   is,   however,   pertinent to   mention that   similar kinds of functions/departments are also being dealt with in the Interior, National Health Services, Regulations & Coordination, and Federal Education & Professional Training Divisions.”

A total of eight functions, including Social Welfare, Special Education, Welfare Development and rehabilitation of children and disabled in the federal area; Federal College of Education, Islamabad; Federal Directorate of Education and education in the capital; Federal Government Polytechnic Institute of Women, Islamabad; Sir Syed School and College of Special Education, Rawalpindi; Training, Education and Rehabilitation of Differently-abled in Islamabad and Federal Directorate of Education (attached department) were assigned to Federal Education and Professional Training Division.

Similarly, CDA; Management and Distribution of Zakat and Ushr in Islamabad; District Population Welfare Office; Department of Tourist Service in Islamabad (attached department); Gun and Country Club and Islamabad Wildlife Management Board were transferred to Inter-Provincial Coordination Division.

Moreover, it was decided that Charitable endowments for federal area; Medical and Health Services for Federal Government employees; administrative control of the National Institute of Handicapped, Islamabad; Shaheed Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto Medical University, Islamabad; Federal Medical and Dental College, Islamabad; Federal General Hospital, Islamabad; Federal Government Services Hospital, Islamabad (Attached Department); Pakistan Institute of Medical Sciences (Attached Department) and National Institute of Rehabilitative Medicine were devolved to National Health Services, Regulations and Coordination Division.

It was decided to transfer department of Libraries (Attached Department) to National History and Literary Heritage Division, while Directorate of Workers Education (attached department) has been transferred to Overseas Pakistanis and Human Resource Development Division.


Comments are closed.