Sarfraz Bugti elected as senator from Balochistan | Pakistan Today

Sarfraz Bugti elected as senator from Balochistan

QUETTA:  Former Balochistan home minister and Balochistan Awami Party (BAP) leader Sarfraz Bugti on Wednesday got elected as senator after securing 37 votes during the by-election for the Senate seat vacated from Balochistan.

BAP’s Dinesh Kumar was the first one to cast his vote followed by Balochistan Chief Minister Jam Kamal Khan. A total of 61 lawmakers casting their vote.

The polling process started at 9 am and continued till 4 pm without any break.

The duties of the returning officer were performed by provincial Election Commissioner Niaz Ahmed Baloch, who also announced the results after polling concluded.

BAP’s Sarfaraz Bugti, Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal’s (MMA) Rehmatullah Kakar, along with three independent candidates, were contesting the elections for the vacated Senate seat.

The three independents candidates contesting the poll included Amir Rind, Ghulam Dastagir Badini and former caretaker chief minister Allauddin Marri.

The provincial Senate seat was vacated after Mir Naimatullah Zehri resigned following his victory in the general elections.

Zehri was elected from the provincial assembly’s PB-36 Shaheed Sikandarabad constituency.

Related posts