RP Singh announces retirement from all forms of cricket


MUMBAI: Rudra Pratap Singh, the 32-year-old former India paceman, has announced his retirement from all forms of cricket.

The left-arm medium pacer wrote on Twitter: “13 years ago, on 4th September 2005 was the first time I donned the Indian jersey. It was the stepping stone to what would become the most cherished moments of my life. Today as I hang my boots and call it a day, I wish to remember and give thanks to each and everyone who made this journey possible.

“Even as I write this, there are conflicting emotions inside me. No matter how much one prepares for the day, there is no easy way to bid goodbye. But somewhere inside there is the voice that tells you – it’s time.

“And that for me is today. My heart and soul will always belong to that young boy who debuted at Faisalabad, Pakistan, who wanted nothing more but to feel the leather in his hand and keep playing but my body reminds me I am an old man who needs to make way for the young.”

Singh played 14 Tests, 58 one-day internationals and 10 Twenty20 Internationals for India after making his international debut in an ODI against Zimbabwe in Harare exactly 13 years back from the day of his retirement.

He last featured in an international game in an ODI against England in Cardiff on 16 September 2011 and finished his international career with 124 wickets to his name.

The highlight of his career came in the drawn first match of the three-Test series against England – India won it 1-0 – at Lord’s in 2007. He picked up his first five-wicket haul and returned career-best figures of 5/59 in the second innings. He played a prominent role in helping India win the series in England after a gap of 21 years under Rahul Dravid’s captaincy.

He was also a part of the Indian side that won the inaugural edition of the ICC World T20 in 2007, where, with 12 wickets from seven matches, he finished as his side’s highest wicket-taker and third overall in the bowling charts.

Singh also played a prominent role in the Indian Premier Leauge in 2009. He was the leading wicket-taker – sending back 23 batsmen – and his bowling excellence powered his team, Deccan Chargers, to their maiden title in the tournament played in South Africa.


Comments are closed.