Finance minister dispatches letters to provincial CMs for 9th NFC | Pakistan Today

Finance minister dispatches letters to provincial CMs for 9th NFC

ISLAMABAD: Federal Minister for Finance Asad Umar on Wednesday wrote letters to chief ministers of all four provinces for the reconstitution of the 9th National Finance Commission (NFC).

A press release issued by the Ministry of Finance stated: “The NFC is required to be set up at intervals not exceeding five years as required under clause (1) of the Article 160 of the constitution. The federal finance minister and the finance ministers of the provinces are the statutory members of NFC. It is customary to include one non-statutory member from each province.”

“Letters have accordingly been dispatched to Punjab Chief Minister (CM) Sardar Usman Ahmad Buzdar, Sindh CM Syed Murad Ali Shah, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa CM Mahmood Khan and to CM Balochistan Jam Kamal Khan.”

The letters stated that after general elections 2018, new governments are in place both at the federal and provincial levels, necessitating re-confirmation of non-statutory members from the provinces.

The finance minister has asked the provincial chief ministers to either reconfirm the earlier nominated members or intimate the change in the nomination to enable the federal government to notify the 9th NFC and start deliberations of the commission.

Related posts