Several PTI leaders vying for party ticket in NA-131 by-polls


Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) leaders Waleed Iqbal and Ghulam Mohiuddin Dewan submitted nomination papers with Punjab election commission to contest by-elections for NA-131 and NA-124.

Iqbal is contesting for the by-polls from NA-131. However, Humayun Akhtar Khan, who recently joined PTI and was part of retired general Pervaiz Musharraf’s cabinet is also claiming to be the PTI candidate from NA-131.

Apart from these two candidates, PTI leaders Hafiz Farhat and Umar Sarfraz Cheema are also in line for the party ticket from the constituency.

The complete list of candidates will be available after nomination papers are filed on Thursday.

In Lahore, the by-polls will be conducted on two seats of both national and provincial assembly: PP-164, PP-165, NA-124 and NA-131.

NA-131 seat was vacated by PTI chief and Prime Minister Imran Khan while NA-124 was vacated by Hamza Shahbaz from Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N).

The PP-164 and PP-165 seats were vacated by PML-N chief Shehbaz Sharif who retained his National Assembly seat from NA-132.