35 contestants lost NA battle despite receiving 100,000 votes


At least 35 candidates contesting for a number of National Assembly seats during the recently conducted general elections lost despite receiving more than 100,000 votes, many of whom lost by a margin of votes lower than the number of rejected votes, a local media outlet reported on Sunday.

A total of 126 candidates contesting for 91 NA constituencies received more than 100,000 votes.

Prime Minister Imran Khan, Pakistan People’s Party’s (PPP) Nawab Yusuf Talpur, Pakistan Muslim League -Nawaz’s (PML-N) Ahsan Iqbal and a number of other contestants secured more than 100,000 votes.

Those who secured more than 100,000 votes but still lost include PML-N’s Babar Nawaz Khan ( 132,756 votes), Saira Afzal Tarar (157,453), PTI’s Shah Mahmood Qureshi from NA-220 ( 104,267) and PML-N’s Chaudhry Faiz Malik (122,336).


Comments are closed.