Sindh Assembly inaugural session marred with traffic jam, mismanagement

Pic13-016 KARACHI: Aug 13 – A view of traffic jam on Fawara Chowrangi due to inaugural session of Sindh Assembly. ONLINE PHOTO by Syed Asif Ali

The Sindh Assembly inaugural session suffered a delay in its commencement as mismanagement at the entrance gates could not allow the 164 newly elected members to enter the assembly hall before the scheduled time of 10 am.

Hundreds of people poured in the assembly premises to witness the oath-taking, making it difficult for the security personnel to separate those who were given entry passes from those who were not permitted to enter.

The security staff closed all the gates for more than an hour to control the situation, however, almost all the people succeeded in entering the premises.

However, despite delay, the session started when the Sindh Assembly Speaker Aga Siraj Durrani administered the oath to the newly elected MPAs.

Pakistan Peoples’ Party (PPP) has a total of 95 seats in the Sindh Assembly that include 73 general, five minority and 17 reserved seats for women.

While the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) got a total of 30 seats including 23 general seats and five reserved seats for women and two minority seats.

Moreover, the Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) has 21 members in the assembly after winning 16 general seats, four reserved women and one minority seats.

The Grand Democratic Alliance (GDA) has a total of 15 MPAs in the Sindh Assembly including four women reserved seats and one minority seat.

For the first time in the Sindh’s history, the Tehreek-e-Labbaik Pakistan (TLP) has three members in the assembly with two members on general seats and one reserved women seat. Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal (MMA) has only one member in the assembly.

Furthermore, there are some 55 new faces including 15 women and five minority members who have entered into the provincial politics.

PPP’s new entrants are Faryal Talpur, Azra Fazal Pechuho, Farogh Ahmed Shah, Munawar Wasaan, Qasim Siraj Soomro, Tariq Talpur, Hari Ram Kishori, Mumtaz Ali Chandio, Raja Razzaq and Saleem Baloch.

PTI’s Aslam Abro, Firdaus Shamim Naqvi, Shaharyar Shar, Raja Izhar, Jamal Siddiqui, Tahira Bhutto and Sidra Imran and MQM-P’s Muhammad Wajahat, Ghulam Jilani Javed Hanif and Nasir Qureshi are also among those who have become parliamentarians for the first time.



Comments are closed.