Imran to keep his Mianwali seat


ISLAMABAD: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Chairman Imran Khan has decided to retain his National Assembly seat of Mianwali out of the fice he won in 2018 elections.

The announcement was made by PTI Spokesperson Fawad Chaudhry as the Election of Pakistan (ECP) ordered the lawmakers to vacate extra seats they won in July 25 polls.

The PTI chief emerged victorious in five National Assembly constituencies, NA-35 Bannu, NA-53 Islamabad, NA-95 Mianwali, NA-131 Lahore and NA-243 Karachi, in the general elections.

Speaking to the media in Islamabad, Fawad further said the opposition will be taken along to strengthen parliament.

“All parliamentary leaders will be invited to the oath-taking ceremony including Shehbaz Sharif, Bilawal Bhutto Zardari and others,” he said, adding that the reservations of the opposition will be addressed and the PM will be answerable to the house.

The PTI spokesperson also added that the prime minister will attend assembly sessions himself to answer questions and the expenditures of the PM House and provincial governor houses will also be cut down.

Before concluding his address, Fawad said that the Punjab chief minister’s name will be decided within next 48 hours and the deputy speaker’s final decision will also be taken by tomorrow.



Comments are closed.