APML’s newly appointed chairman resigns


All Pakistan Muslim League (APML) Chairman Dr Muhammad Amjad on Friday resigned from party’s top position. Dr Amjad was nominated as the new chairman of the party by Musharraf after he resigned from the position on June 22.

Speaking to the press, Dr Amjad confirmed that he has disassociated from the party and will send his resignation to the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) by Monday.

Dr Amjad was contesting elections from Islamabad’s NA-53 constituency, however, at the runtime, he withdrew his nomination papers in favour of Imran Khan who contesting against him from the same NA seat.

Musharraf founded APML in 2010. Despite the party announcing a boycott of the 2013 election just days before the balloting, two of its candidates still contested and won two seats from Chitral.

The retired general was barred from contesting the 2013 election due to cases registered against him.


Comments are closed.