PTI’s Shah Farman loses PK-70 to ANP rival after vote recount


PESHAWAR: Awami National Party (ANP) candidate Khush Dil Khan emerged victorious against Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) Shah Farman following a vote recount in PK-70 constituency of Peshawar on Thursday.

The returning officer said, “The vote recount showed Khush Dil Khan leading with a margin of 187 votes.”

Earlier, during the July 25 polls, Shah Farman had emerged as the winner with a mere 47 vote difference over Khan.

However, the ANP candidate had sought a recount in the constituency. Following the recount, ANP’s position in the KP Assembly stands at seven seats as opposed to PTI’s 65 seats.

Shah Farman is a former provincial minister and won from the PK-71 constituency in the 2018 General Election.

Khush Dil Khan has previously served as deputy speaker of the KP Assembly.