Elections 2018: Political leaders, prominent personalities cast vote


LAHORE/ISLAMABAD/KARACHI: Several political leaders and prominent personalities on Wednesday cast their vote during Pakistan’s 11th general election.

Former Punjab chief minister and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) President Shehbaz Sharif was among the first people to cast his vote. He voted in his home constituency NA-130 where Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s (PML-N) Khawaja Hassan and Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf’s (PTI) Shafqat Mehmood had a head-to-head contest. His mother Shamim Akhtar voted in Islamia College of Lahore.

PTI Chairman Imran Khan cast his vote in NA-53 Islamabad. President Mamnoon Hussain went to his home constituency NA-247 Karachi while Chief Justice of Pakistan voted in NA-130 Lahore in Barkat Market.

Chief of Army Staff (COAS) General Qamar Javed Bajwa and his wife cast their vote at Rawalpindi whereas former army chief Gen (r) Raheel Sharif casts his vote in NA-129.

Former prime minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi cast vote in NA-57 Murree. Former president and PPP co-chairman Asif Ali Zardari, his daughters Bakhtawar and Asifa Bhutto voted in Nawab Shah.

Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) Chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari voted in Larkana’s NA-200 constituency. During his media talk, he hoped that the nation will vote with full strength.

Ex-opposition leader in National assembly Khursheed Shah cast his vote in Sukkur’s NA-207 constituency. Speaking to media, he hoped for fair elections. Shah maintained that PPP has worked for the continuity of democracy in the country while conducting transparent elections is a major responsibility of army.

Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) leader Dr Farooq Sattar voted in NA-245 constituency Karachi. He vowed to win all traditional seats.

Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal (MMA) leader Maulana Fazlur Rehman cast vote in his native town in Dera Ismail Khan. He said a change will come as the structure of government is altering.