PML-N, MMA agree on seat adjustment in Mardan

  • Alliance to support PML-N candidates in PK-52, PK-53 to get support on NA-21 seat

MARDAN/PESHAWAR: The Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and the Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal (MMA) here agreed on seat adjustment in Mardan for the upcoming general election.

Addressing a press conference, PML-N provincial president Amir Muqam and MMA provincial chief Maulana Gul Naseeb said that MMA would support PML-N candidates on two Provincial Assembly seats PK-52, PK-53 while PML-N would back MMA candidate on NA-21 Mardan.

They said that MMA would support PML-N candidates Arsalan Khan and Khan Akbar on Provincial Assembly seats while PML-N would back MMA candidate Shujaul Mulk on the National Assembly seat. However, the MMA candidates for PK-52, 53 have rejected this decision and held a protest demonstration in front of the Mardan Press Club.

In Malakand Division, the election campaigns have reached to its peak where around 3,798,207 registered voters will decide fate of candidates on 10 national and 24 provincial assemblies’ seats on July 25. A total of 92 candidates are flexing muscles for 10 NA seats and 255 candidates for 24 provincial seats in seven districts of the division.

A visit to these constituencies revealed that all polling stations and booths were equipped with clean drinking water, security, electricity, shelters and washrooms on directives of ECP so that the voters can exercise their right of franchise in free, fair and peaceful atmosphere. All eyes were set on NA-3 Swat where tough contest is expected between PML-N President Shahbaz Sharif and PTI former MNA Salimur Rehman.

JUI-F chief Maulana Fazlur Rehman had withdrawn his candidate Maulana Hujuatullah Khan in favour of Shahbaz Sharif owing to seat adjustment between the two parties. Swat Traders Association President Abdul Rahim and eminent personalities Alhaj Ajab Khan and his son former naizm Haji Raza Khan have announced support for Shahbaz Sharif.

On NA-2 Swat-I, PML-N provincial president Amir Muqam, PPP’s Amjad Ali Khan, ANP’s Mumtaz Ahmed and PTI’s Haider Ali Khan are eying on this seat. However, tough electoral fight is expected between Amir Muqam and Haider Ali on this constituency. Amir Muqam had made record development in the constituency during the last 10 years and is being considered a strong candidate.

NA-4 Swat-III will also witness tough electoral battle among PTI chief’s close aide Murad Saeed, Muhammad Salim Khan of ANP, Farooz Shah of PML-N and Qari Mehmood of MMA. Murad Saeed is being challenged by Muhammad Salim who is the son of ANP leader late, Afzal Khan Lala and has sufficient vote in the constituency.

NA-8 Malakand is the main centre of political attraction where PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto is flexing muscles against political rivals in a bid to revitalize his party, which showed a dismal performance in general election 2013 in Malakand, which was used to be called by Mini Larkana in the past.

Bilawal Bhutto, Junaid Akbar Khan of PTI and Maulana Gul Naseeb of MMA are main contenders in the race for this constituency. Of the three main contenders, two are not native of the district except of PTI. NA-I Chitral is all set to witness a close election battle among former MNAs Iftikharuddin and Abdul Akbar Chitrali and Ex-Provincial Minister Salim Khan. PML-N ticket holder, Shahzada Iftikharudin is being considered a very powerful candidate for NA-I because of his strong roots and sufficient vote bank of his party in the constituency.