KP CM proposes removal of CS, IGP, others following attack on ANP meeting


PESHAWAR: In view of the suicide attack on a corner meeting of the Awami National Party (ANP) in Peshawar on Tuesday, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) Caretaker Chief Minister Justice (r) Dost Mohammad Khan has forwarded a proposal to the federal government, seeking the removal of KP Chief Secretary Kamran Naveed Khan, Inspector General of Police (IGP) Muhammad Tahir, Peshawar commissioner and Home Department secretary.

“I as the KP chief minister contacted the chief secretary following the incident, however, I was told by the operator that he was away. Personally, he was told to contact the chief minister as soon as possible in view of the serious emergency,” read the proposal.

It further stated that a meeting was held from midnight till 9:00 am, during which a report was sought from the chief secretary, which he did not submit.

“In all important matters and tasks assigned to the chief secretary, the incumbent CS did not submit a single day report. He does not maintain any arrangements for important matters including security. The chief minister himself, along with other ministers defused the tension.”

It also said that in view of consultations with the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), “the services of the CS have been decided to be dispensed and he should report to the Establishment Division immediately”.

Furthermore, the Establishment Division has been requested to immediately replace Naveed Khan’s services with that of Ahmad Hanif Orakzai.

“Any delay of even a single hour in the matter may lead to serious consequences, therefore, necessary action should be taken without any delay.”

The removal of KP IGP Muhammad Tahir was also proposed in the letter.

“The incumbent IGP may be immediately relieved of his duty and he should report to the Establishment Division,” said the proposal, adding that Muhammad Naeem Khan may be appointed as the KP IGP immediately.

The chief minister also proposed the federal government to replace Peshawar commissioner and KP Home Department secretary.