Replacement election candidates for Maryam Nawaz decided


LAHORE: The Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) on Saturday decided on the replacements for Maryam Nawaz’s candidacy after she was disqualified from contesting the elections in the Avenfield reference case on Friday.

Lahore wing President Ali Pervez Malik is set to contest for the NA-127 seat while Irfan Shafi Khokhar will contest from PP-173.

The accountability court on Friday sentenced deposed prime minister Nawaz Sharif to 10 years rigorous imprisonment for accumulating assets beyond income and one year for non-cooperation with NAB (National Accountability Bureau) in the Avenfield reference.

Nawaz’s daughter, Maryam on the other hand had been handed a seven-year jail term for abetment in the purchase of the posh property in London, and one year for non-cooperation with the accountability watchdog.

Maryam’s husband, Captain (R) Safdar Awan had been sentenced to a year’s rigorous imprisonment for not cooperating with the NAB authorities.