T20I tri-series: Pakistan beat Zimbabwe by 7 wickets


HARARE: Pakistan comprehensively defeated Zimbabwe by seven wickets in the fourth match of tri-series.

Opener Fakhar Zaman scored 47, while left-handed batsman Hussain Talat scored 44 in the chase. The national team chased down the target in 19.1 overs.

Batting first, host Zimbabwe set the target of 163 for Pakistan.  Solomon Mire misses out on Zimbabwe’s first T20I century, but his 94 drives the hosts a good total against the green shirts.

Muhammad Amir, Shadab Khan, Hussain Talat, and Faheem Ashraf took one wicket each.

Earlier, Pakistan won the toss and decided to field.

Pakistan made two changes for the match as Muhammad Amir and Haris Sohail replaced Muhammad Hafeez and Usman Shinwari.

The national team will be looking to make a comeback after a thumping defeat against Australia.

On Monday,  Australia beat Pakistan by 9 wickets in the second T20 match of the tri-series underway in Zimbabwe, ending the Green Shirts’ eight-match winning streak in the shortest format of the game.

Fast bowler Billy Stanlake demolished Pakistan’s top order with four quick wickets as they were held to 116 all out. Australia chased down the target in the 11th over, powered by skipper Aaron Finch’s 68* off 33.

Stanlake took 4 for 8 in his opening burst, the most economical spell by an Australian in T20 international cricket, and the second best ever behind James Faulkner’s 5 for 27 the last time the two teams met.


Zimbabwe: Hamilton Masakadza (c), Ryan Burl, Brian Chari, Chamu Chibhabha, Elton Chigumbura, Tendai Chisoro, Kyle Jarvis, Wellington Masakadza, Brandon Mavuta, Solomon Mire, Peter Moor (wk), Chris Mpofu, Ryan Murray, Tarisai Musakanda, Blessing Muzaraban, John Nyumbu, Malcolm Waller, Cephas Zhuwao.

Pakistan: Sarfraz Ahmed (c, wk), Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Asif Ali, Hussain Talat, Haris Sohail, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Amir, Usman Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Sahibzada Farhan.