ECP dismisses references against 14 lawmakers of MQM-P


ISLAMABAD: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has dismissed references against former MNAs and MPAs from Muttahida Qaumi Movement Pakistan (MQM-P).

The ECP dismissed the references, filed by former MPM-P convener Farooq Sattar, due to completion of tenure of assemblies and end of Dr Farooq Sattar’s tenure as convener.

A three-member commission headed by election commission’s member from Sindh, Abdul Ghaffar Soomro, took up the reference for hearing seeking to unseat MNAs and MPAs of MQM-Pakistan who had become disobedient.

Farooq Sattar had filed references against 14 defiant MNAs and MPAs including Asif Hussain, Sufian Yousuf and Suleman Baloch.

On Wednesday, ECP also adjourned the hearing with reference to the case of disqualification of Karachi Deputy Mayor Arshad Vohra till 9 August.

Muhammad Akbar Khan on behalf of Farooq Sattar and Syed Hafeezuddin on behalf of Karachi Deputy Mayor Arshad Vohra appeared before ECP.

Arshad Vohra’s lawyer said that Sattar had committed fraud. Nadeem Nusrat was the convener of the party at the time of filing reference and Nadeem had remained the convener during the intra-party elections.

“Conspiracy was hatched to spoil the election process,” he added.

He further said that incumbent convener Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui had stepped in Farooq Sattar’s shoe. “An action should be taken against Dr Farooq Sattar and Khalid Maqbool Siddique and the symbol should also be taken back from them. The convenership of Khalid Maqbool should also be annulled,” he maintained

On the other hand, Farooq Sattar’s lawyer said that Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui was made the convener of the party after a court verdict while Sattar was the convener when the reference against Karachi Deputy Mayor Arshad Vohra was filed.

Soomro, seeking Sattar’s status from back when the reference was filed, then adjourned the hearing of the case till August 9.