Mirzas of Badin to contest on five local constituencies


The politically influential Mirza family of Badin will contest from five out of the seven constituencies in the district as the Grand Democratic Alliance’s candidates. Former National Assembly speaker Dr Fehmida Mirza, her husband and former home minister Dr Zulfiqar Mirza, and their two sons, Hasnain Mirza and Hassan Mirza, have all landed in the electoral fray.

The party has allotted the ticket for NA-229, Badin-I to Hassam Mirza and NA-230 Badin-II to Dr Fehmida, who will also contest from PS-73 Badin. Hasnain has been given PS-72 Tando Bago constituency, which he had won in the 2013 elections as a Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) candidate, while Dr Zulfiqar will stand from PS-74 Golarchi.

For the remaining two constituencies, PS 70 Matli and PS 71 Talhar, the alliance has chosen Riaz Ahmed Nizamani and Dr Abdullah Talpur. The district is set to witness a tough electoral contest between the Mirzas and the PPP.

For NA-229 and NA-230, Mir Ghulam Ali Talpur and Haji Rasool Bux Chandio are the PPP’s candidates, respectively. Bashir Ahmed Halepoto, Mir Allah Bux Talpur, Syed Ali Bux Shah, Taj Muhammad Mallah and Ismail Rahu have been given the tickets for PS-70, PS-71, PS-72, PS-73 and PS-74, respectively.

On Saturday, the Returning Officers also allotted symbols to the candidates of the two parties.