Ali Wazir, Mohsin Dawar among seven PTM leaders expelled for contesting polls


PESHAWAR: The Pashtun Tahafuz Movement (PTM) on Sunday expelled seven of its core committee members including Mohsin Dawar and Ali Wazir for being involved in the upcoming elections.

Dr Syed Alam Mehsud justified the action saying that PTM was created to fight for people’s rights and has no ambition to be involved in politics or elections.

The other members who have been expelled are Abdullah Nangiyal, Irshad Tony, Hamid Sherani, Abdul Wahid and Jamal Maliyar, as they are contesting the upcoming polls.

Dr Mehsud said that the decision was taken in the presence of the PTM’s core committee led by Manzoor Pashteen.

He explained that since the PTM has no membership process and comprises just of the core committee, removal from the committee effectively means removal from the PTM.

Meanwhile, PTM leadership and government-constituted jirga members on Sunday agreed to continue the talks and develop a consensus over demands raised by PTM in its public meetings.

Representatives from both sides agreed to hold similar talks on July 8, said Abdul Latif Afridi, who represents PTM, while briefing media men over the development. He further informed that reservations and grievances of PTM would be resolved via negotiations.