Imran Khan, Khaqan Abbasi, Ayesha Gulalai, Mehtab Abbasi’s nomination papers for NA-53 rejected


ISLAMABAD: The returning officer on Tuesday rejected the nomination papers of political bigwigs, including Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Chairman Imran Khan, former prime minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, chairperson of PTI-G Ayesha Gulalai and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) leader Mehtab Abbasi, for Islamabad’s NA-53 constituency.

According to the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), the returning officer dismissed the political leaders’ nomination papers over violation of Section N of the affidavit. The RO maintained that politicians did not fill the affidavit as per its requirements.