Expelled PTI lawmakers serve legal notices to party chief


PESHAWAR: Five Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) lawmakers on Monday served legal notices to party chief Imran Khan, demanding from him to withdraw allegations of indulging in horse-trading in the Senate elections. Khan had expelled these lawmakers from the party allegedly for selling their votes.

Members of provincial assembly (MPAs) Qurban Ali Khan, Yasin Khalil, Abdul Haq, Zahid Durrani and Abdul Mayar also demanded a public apology from Khan in 14 days and a total of Rs 5 billion to be paid in damages to them.

The expelled lawmakers have also decided to move the court against the PTI chief under defamation ordinance 2002 if Khan failed to tender them an apology within the above-mentioned time frame.

It is pertinent to mention here that all lawmakers sent separate legal notices to Khan and demanded Rs 1 billion in compensation for being wrongfully accused of an act that they did not commit.

The PTI chief had announced on April 18 that he would take disciplinary action against 20 lawmakers in the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) Assembly for allegedly selling their votes during the Senate polls.

Two days later on April 21, the party sent show cause notices to their MPAs, including Nargis Ali, Dina Naz, Nagina Khan, Naseem Hayat, Fauzia Bibi, Sardar Idrees, Obaid Mayar, Zahid Duranni, Abdul Haq, Qurban Khan, Amjid Afridi, Javed Naseem, Yasin Khali, Faisal Zaman, Sami Alizayi, Wajihuzaman, Maraj Humayun, Arif Yousaf, Khatoon Bibi and Babar Saleem.

Around 12 party members were expelled on May 10 for failing to submit their replies to the show cause notices.