NA speaker, deputy speaker congratulate Arif Nizami on elected as President CPNE


ISLAMABAD: Speaker National Assembly Sardar Ayaz Sadiq and the Deputy Speaker Murtaza Javed Abbasi have congratulated Arif Nizami and Dr. Jabbar Khattak on their election as President and General Secretary of the Council of Pakistan Newspaper Editors (CPNE) respectively, reported Radio Pakistan.

In their separate congratulatory messages, the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker expressed hope that newspapers and publication industry will progress under their guidance and would guide the government to improve governance and formulate pro-people policies.

On Saturday, veteran journalist, senior analyst and Pakistan Today Editor Arif Nizami has been elected as the president of the Council of Pakistan Newspaper Editors (CPNE).

Awami Awaz Editor Dr Abdul Jabbar Khattak has been elected as the secretary general while Khabrain Editor Imtinan Shahid has been elected as the senior vice president and Express Group Editor Ayaz Khan as the Punjab vice president.

The names of the new council members were announced during a meeting of the CPNE standing committee which was held under the chairmanship of outgoing president Zia Shahid.

Paying tribute to the outgoing CPNE council, Arif Nizami said that they had contributed immensely to the fraternity of journalists during their tenure.