Eight ruling party lawmakers jump ship

  • Six MNAs, two Punjab MPAs announce joining PTI, BAP

ISLAMABAD: A day after former Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) leaders under the banner of Janubi Punjab Suba Mahaz shook hand with Imran Khan, eight more ruling party lawmakers defected to the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf (PTI) and Balochistan Awami Party (BAP) on Thursday.

According to details, six MNAs, including two from Punjab and four from Balochistan, and two Punjab MPAs announced their decision to quit the PML-N.

MNAs Raza Hayat Harraj from Khanewal and Rana Umar Nazir from Gujranwala, and Punjab Assembly members Abdul Razzaq Khan Niazi and Raheela Yahya Munawar formally announced to join PTI at Imran Khan’s Banigala residence.

Meanwhile, four MNAs from Balochistan — Jam Kamal Khan, Dostain Domki, Khalid Magsi and Khalil George — announced to join the newly formed BAP. Khan, Domki and Magsi had announced quitting PML-N last month.

“We have decided in principle to quit the party over its policies of injustice towards Balochistan,” Kamal, a former state minister and MNA from Lasbela told a press conference at Quetta Press Club on Thursday evening.

“Balochistan Awami Party will strive for the acquisition of rights of people of Balochistan in a political way,” BAP leader Saeed Hashmi said.

The MNAs defecting from the ruling party lashed out at its policies and vowed to defend the rights of people of Balochistan. “The ruling party ignored Balochistan and always accommodated its coalition partners here,” Kamal said.