Six accused in Kasur anti-judiciary rally to be indicted on 11th


LAHORE: The Lahore High Court (LHC) on Wednesday decided to indict on May 11, six accused, including two Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) leaders, for conducting an anti-judiciary rally in Kasur.

This was announced by Justice Mazhar Ali Akbar Naqvi during the hearing of a petition against the six accused, including Kasur Baitul Maal Chairman Nasir Mehmood and Market Committee Chairman Jameel Ahmed.

The accused told the court they were ‘ashamed’ of their actions and that they apologise to the judiciary and nation.

“We started a movement in favour of the judiciary and respect it fully,” they added.

To this, Justice Naqvi remarked, “They have apologised and are ashamed but have accepted their crime.”

Justice Naqvi further directed the accused to submit an unconditional apology and appointed Punjab additional advocate general as a prosecutor.

The indictment will take place on May 11.

During Monday’s hearing, the police told the court that they had arrested two absconders who protested in Kasur against the senior judiciary at a PML-N rally.

“Kasur Baitul Maal Chairperson Nasir Mehmood and Market Committee Chairperson Jameel Ahmed have been arrested,” Kasur District Police Officer Zahid Nawaz said.

Nasir Mehmood and Jameel Ahmed had been absconding ever since the protest rally was held.

Moreover, names of six individuals, including two lawmakers, were added to the Exit Control List (ECL) on Monday at the instructions of the LHC in the anti-judiciary rallies and speeches case.

The accused, Member of National Assembly (MNA) Waseem Akhtar, Member of Provincial Assembly (MPA) Naeem Safdar, Union Council (UC) Chairman Ayaz Khan, Vice Chairman Ahmed Latif appeared before the court, and are being charged for conducting anti-judiciary rallies in the city of Kasur.

DPO Kasur Zahid Nawaz Marwat also presented a report, after which the court adjourned the hearing until May 9 and advised the authorities to present the records of the speeches made.

In the report submitted to the court, DPO Marwat revealed that the name of the suspects have been added to the ECL. Ali Ahmed Kurd, the counsel for the case suspects, was advised to present a power of attorney and appear on May 9.

Earlier, the LHC ordered adding the names of six individuals on the ECL.

“Where are culprits Nasir Khan and Jamil Khan who conducted anti-judicial rallies,” the bench questioned district police officer (DPO) Kasur.

The DPO informed the court that both suspects had escaped and a search was ongoing for their arrest.

The petition was filed against anti-judiciary speeches by Kasur’s district bar’s president. A full bench, headed by Justice Syed Mazahar Ali Naqvi, also directed authorities to submit a report in court after the names are placed on the ECL list. The court also questioned regarding not adding sections of cybercrime act.