Chairpersons elected for four Senate committees: report


ISLAMABAD: Senators Faisal Javed, Sassui Palijo, Lt general (retd) Abdul Qayyum and Shibli Faraz were unanimously elected as chairpersons of four standing committees of the Senate, reported a local media outlet.

Qayyum’s name was proposed by Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s Senator Nauman Wazir Khattak for the chairmanship of Standing Committee on Defence Production and the move was seconded by other senators.

Javed’s name was proposed by Pakistan Peoples Party’s (PPP) Senator Maula Bux Chandio as chairman of Standing committee on Information Broadcasting and National Heritage, while Faraz was elected as the chairman of the  Standing Committee on Commerce and Textile in the committee’s inaugural session.

“The committee members would work as a team to bring improvement in the working of the ministry, attached departments and promote a soft image of the country”, said Senator Javed.


Senator Farooq Hamid Naek proposed Palijo’s name as chairperson of the Standing Committee on Parliamentary Affairs and the move was seconded by Senator Khanzada Khan.