NA body considers amendments in Elections Bill 2017


ISLAMABAD: The National Assembly (NA) Standing Committee on Parliamentary Affairs considered The Elections (Amendment) Bill, 2017 moved by MNA Naeema Kishwer Khan on Thursday.

The NA body met here under the chairmanship of MNA Dr Shezra Mansab Ali Khan Kharal, to discuss the proposed agenda.

Joint Secretary, Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs briefed the Committee regarding the comprehensive report/implementation status of the previous recommendations of the Committee. He informed that Ministry has compliance on the directions of the Committee and also sent letters to the concerned department for implementation on the direction of the Committee.

The Committee considered “The Elections (Amendment) Bill, 2017” moved by MNA Naeema Kishwer Khan. After discussion committee recommended that the amendment proposed in section 41 may be passed by the National Assembly, however, on the other proposed amendment in section 211, was withdrawn by the mover.

Additional Secretary, Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), briefed the Committee regarding the imposition of ban on recruitments and development schemes. He informed that under Article 218 (3) and 220 of the Constitution, ECP imposed a ban on recruitment and development schemes to prevent pre pre-pole rigging in upcoming General Election 2018. He said that all kind of recruitments, except the recruitments which are made by the federal and provincial public service commission, has been banned by ECP.

The representative from all the provinces was of the view that notification regarding the ban on recruitments and development schemes should be issued with the consultation with the Federal and Provincial Governments. The Representative from all the provinces also showed apprehension on the imposition of ban on recruitments and ongoing development schemes.

The committee also showed serious concern on the imposition of ban on recruitments & development schemes and recommended that ECP should lift / release ban on recruitments & ongoing development schemes. The Committee recommended that already issued notification should be revised / amended in public interest.

The meeting was attended by MNAs Malik Ihtebar Khan, Sardar Ashiq Hussain Gopang, Nadeem Abbas Rabaira, Ch Salman Haneef Khan, Arifa Khalid Parvez, Belum Hasnain, Shazia Sobia, Nafeesa Inayatullah Khan Khattak and Naeema Kishwer Khan. Senior officers of the Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs, Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) and representatives from the government of Sindh, Punjab, and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) were also present in the meeting.